Meals (Not Quite) Ready To Eat

No mixer? No cake pans? NO PROBLEM!

Cornbread made better

Posted by acidqueen5426 on 7 December, 2007

Well. I’ve tried twice to make cornbread, and both times it came out as dense as a lead brick and as dry as the Great Sandy Desert. I’d take one bite, and I’d have to reach for the milk or a 2-liter bottle of soda or something. I’d drown it in melted butter, and it would look at me like Oliver Twist saying “May I have more?”  I’d slather it in honey, and the honey would vanish into the great dry beyond. And it would stick to the pan, too–a well-oiled pan, I might add. It was like all that oil just got sucked up into the cornbrick, turning the bottom into some kind of bizarre sovereign glue that could only be removed by super-generous application of enough water to end North Carolina’s drought.

In short, it was 100% ass and had very little flavour to boot. But I like cornbread, and that stuff is all that I have–so, rather than just give up in despair I decided to do a little experiment this morning. The recipe I used was as follows:

1c applesauce (addition)

2c Martha White’s Self-Rising Cornmeal Mix (where I got the original recipe from)

1 1/3c milk

1/4c oil

1 egg, beaten

I whisked the mixture together and poured it into my nice Pyrex pie dish, which I had oiled with a little canola, and popped it into a 450-degree oven for 18 minutes + 5 minutes carryover time.

What resulted was a good deal more moist than the original recipe, with a slight hint of appleness. The bread was also slightly brownish from the applesauce, and the texture was–curiously enough–considerably lighter than what I had before. It was rather yummy and didn’t require that I have a gallon of milk to drink with it, which was a plus. I think I’d make it again.

4 Responses to “Cornbread made better”

  1. LisaRene said

    Hello, I found your site via Facebook which I recently joined. I have the same results with cornbread, they just never taste very good to me. I love the idea of adding some applesauce and will experiment with that next time I whip up a batch.

  2. Phantasmal said

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Phantasmal.

  3. It is a fact that so many divorce cases are logged inncourt due to only this cause. If you suffer from erection problems and take the 50mg dose Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

  4. PLISSSS…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… Click http://d2.ae/hool090630

Leave a Reply

 
